top of page
Search

Accepting 'instagrammability'.

'Instagrammable' or 'Instagrammability', neither have made their way into the Oxford English Dictionary (yet), but I'm sure it won't be long until they become a part of our English language.


Let's face it, when was the last time you got yourself a #coffee without capturing a caffeinated photo to add to your feed? Or the last time you ate in a restaurant forgetting the oh-so-instagrammable plate arrangement? When was the last time you travelled to a new place without being influenced by the gram?


It seems that almost every part of our 21st century lifestyle revolves around 'instagrammability'. I even read that 40 percent of people under the age of 33 choose their next travel destination based on its 'instagrammability'; if they can't Instagram it, they won't go there.


I thought this would surprise me, but it didn't, as I myself have committed this millennial sin. Not so long ago, I chose to trek 70km through the Colombian jungle, almost solely for that gram-worthy shot featuring natural indigenous ruins and an 'I've found myself' caption to follow underneath. And I know I'm not alone.


Once again, it's got me thinking. Should we let 'instagrammability' be a thing?


For me, it's the very 'non-instagrammable' parts of life that create some of the best memories, especially when it comes to travelling. Will I ever forget that cockroach infested sleeper train that took me through Vietnam, or the sleepless night spent somewhere unknown in the hills of the Mekong Delta? Probably not. Did those authentic street-food cactus tacos in Mexico City leave a lasting flavour in my memory? You bet they did. How did those 72 hours of trekking hell feel in the Sierra Nevada jungle? Pretty epic.


Unsurprisingly, I didn't choose to share these moments on Instagram, as there was nothing 'instagrammable' about them. Would I really want my post trekking self, still recovering from vomiting and diarrhoea, to feature on my feed? Yet, I'll say it again, they are some of the best memories I have.


So, it's a little worrying to learn just how important some of us value 'instagrammability'. Don't get me wrong, I love Instagram as much as anyone else. It often influences my decisions when I'm adventuring or exploring somewhere new, but it should do just that - influence - and not dictate. Should we rely on it to determine where we go? Probably not. Instead, it should be used to inspire, enthuse and excite us.


Maybe every now and then we should forget about Instagram when sipping our daily coffee, maybe even enjoy our brunch before it gets cold. Let's not forget those Lonely Planet guides, or better still the locals, that know their country in a way Instagram never will.


P.S. I still love you Instagram 💛


bottom of page