top of page
Search

Sir Bani Yas Island, U.A.E.

Updated: Dec 20, 2018

A trip to Sir Bani Yas Island is a chance to swap the extravagant Emirati culture for its unseen simplicity. Whilst a weekend escape to this natural haven still promises to deliver on indulgence, it is better appreciated for its abundance of indigenous Arabian wildlife.


Founded in 1971, Sir Bani Yas Island was created as part of the late Sheikh Zayed's 'Greening of the Desert' vision. It is thanks to his support, that several millions of trees were planted and a 4,100-hectare wildlife park built, providing a sanctuary for Arabia's endangered wildlife. He has left behind a thriving legacy, that continues to highlight the importance of conservation and sustainability, and invites travellers from all destinations to discover its rich heritage.

 

My journey to Sir Bani Yas Island began as I left the shores of Abu Dhabi and set sail through the jewelled turquoise seas. I was making my way towards the pristine white beaches, neatly lined with towering palm groves. Once I arrived, a warm welcome from the Anantara staff was waiting for me, as well as a pretty swanky car to drive me to the biggest of their three hotels on the island.


Everything about my stay was perfect. The Desert Islands Resort & Spa blends luxurious with adventure; encouraging guests to immerse themselves in everything they have to offer. The rooms were spacious and bright, with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic views across the Arabian gulf. Whilst outside, a small infinity pool is the perfect persuasion to take a break from the midday sun. As for the restaurants, Arabic food is taken back to its roots, delivering simple dishes adorned with spice and flavour.


It was the little things that made a difference during my stay. The cucumber lemonade bought to me poolside, the sweet treat left on my pillow every afternoon to accompany a freshly brewed Arabica coffee, and the warming smile that was planted on each and every member of staffs face. It was these little things that made me feel a part of the Anantara family.



It's impossible to leave the island without adventuring into the wildlife park. It was an authentic experience, in which myself and my guide set off into the gated reserve in a 4x4 with open sides and roof. The sun hadn't yet risen and the environment was tranquil; it was hard to believe I wasn't on a safari in the Serengeti or Savanna.


We'd barely entered the reserve and the islands resident cheetahs were lying on top of the sand dunes. They were surrounded by oryx, gazelles, deers and ostriches. As the car ventured further inland, a tall velvety silhouette could be seen in the distance. Then there was another, and another, and another...It didn't take long before I was surrounded by giraffes; their necks tangled and burrowing into the trees.


It was a great experience to see these animals at such close proximity, and the wildlife drive is just the beginning; land sailing, horse riding and marine snorkelling offer even more opportunities.



My trip to Sir Bani Yas Island was a trip that I never thought I'd take, or should I say, I never realised I wanted to take. Whilst most adventure to the Emirates to experience it's luxury and attractive facade, it was refreshing to see a different side.



bottom of page