top of page
Search

Is travelling alone a life-changing experience?

Updated: Oct 29, 2018

I was recently reading the latest edition of Wanderlust, and came across an article about 25 life-changing travelling experiences. I was surprised to find that travelling alone had been ranked at number one, and it got me thinking about my own experiences of travelling alone...

 

I think you know when the time is right to take a solo trip. At least this was the case for me.

Although it felt like I had made the wrong decision as I tearfully waved goodbye to my family at the airport, deep down I knew it was something I both wanted and needed to do.


Travelling alone is scary. Not just scary, it’s exhausting, sometimes lonely and often a little boring. It’s also an experience that has taught me a life lesson or two; looking back I can safely say I made the right decision to venture to South America for 12 months. So, I wanted to get a little reflective and look back at what I have learnt from a year of travelling, adventuring and exploring with only my own company.


It's ok to feel lonely, homesick and generally shit.

Is it just me, or is there an immense pressure to be "having the time of your life" whilst travelling? At least that's what we allude everyone at home into believing (I blame social media). Well, it's definitely not the realty. At times, it's the complete opposite, but that doesn't mean you're failing. Travelling comes with both highs and lows, embrace them both.


Gut decisions are a real thing...trust them.

I have always been an extremely indecisive person, but that had to change when I was travelling solo. There's no other way around it when travelling alone, than to go with your gut decision. Trust yourself and follow your instincts.


You do You.

You are your only priority; it's time to be selfish. Go where YOU want to go and do what YOU want to do.


You win some, you lose some...

...when it comes to friendships. On your journey you'll meet people that quickly become a part of your international family; you'll wonder how your life ever functioned without them. But it's not all about the new ones, as you realise which of the ones back home will be waiting for you to return.

 

So, I think I agree. Travelling alone is a life-changing experience. If I think of the person I am now, and compare it to the one who left for Argentina 12 months ago, a lot of things have changed.


There's no limitations, just a hell of a lot of freedom and empowerment waiting for you.

bottom of page